How caffeine affects my brain

I take the cup in my hands. “Do not drink this”, my sensible mind warns me. But the maddeningly tempting aroma of fresh coffee has reached my nostrils and the cup is pleasantly warming my hands. I raise it to my lips and satisfy my cravings with a slurp. “Aaaaah!” Savoring it sip after sip after sip … the bottom of the cup is visible now.

A pulse throbs in my head, as if the beverage has been injected into my brain and is pumping its way through neurons branching out, advancing forward beat by beat. A tornado forms in a corner. Someone begins to light fireworks. Two bulls face each other in a ring. The train at station A starts up.

The drumbeats rise to a crescendo making the tornado dance, spinning faster and faster, splitting itself into its clones moving directly in the path of the train hurtling at breakneck speed towards station B on the other side of my head, the windows of its compartments passing by in a blur and opening up to reveal the two bulls kicking up dust and charging furiously at each other, meeting midway with a skull-crushing ‘thwack’ to which the surrounding audience in the arena erupts in a roar while up above, dazzling fireworks explode in a shower of brilliant stars.

After a while, the sound of the drumbeats fade, the tornadoes die down one by one, the train chugs slowly down to a halt, the fighting bulls start to drift apart while a hush falls over the previously cheering spectators and the fireworks start to fizzle.

The caffeine retreats quietly, sucking my energy on its way out and making me vow to stick to decaf while leaving me completely drained.

caffeine_effect

About Dancing Fingers Singing Keypad

This blogger is someone whose fingers itch to dance, coaxing the keypad to sing. For years, I kept saying that writing for me was a mere hobby. And then, just like the lead characters of a typical romantic movie it finally dawned upon me just how much I love this form of art and how I simply cannot live without it. And then we lived happily ever after ... or tried to, for isn't there the following saying? “Writing is torture. Not writing is torture. The only thing that feels good is having written." Originally from India, I reside in California, USA with my husband and little daughter and work as a software engineer. (I’ve got to be practical, the aforementioned love of my life doesn’t pay for food yet and it doesn’t hurt that I enjoy computer programming.) With the title loosely inspired by the Oscar-winning Chinese film “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon“, this blog, “Dancing Fingers, Singing Keypad” welcomes viewers …err… readers to savor the performances of its “characters”.
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How caffeine affects my brain

  1. Nikhil says:

    I am having my Saturday morning tea with Fanaa and Khalbali in background and I read this.
    Now my planet is shaking! Because you are rocking!

  2. 3Marigolds says:

    Caffeine isn’t all that bad. Here is a lovely site http://en.ilovecoffee.jp/ The author does fun infographics, drawings etc.

    • Yes, normal coffee tastes so good actually. I just envy people who can enjoy it without getting consciously high, going bonkers and then fizzling out like air being let out of a balloon as I do when I happen to drink a considerable amount!
      Thanks for sharing the link. It’s so creative and informative. Perhaps you might know this already but the girl who owns that blog is the girlfriend of this guy whose awesome blog I follow regularly: ‘The Oatmeal’ (http://theoatmeal.com) and I had chanced upon her blog before from references to it on his blog.

Leave a Comment

