Rocking Fingers, Singing Peppers! \m/

I enjoy many genres of music and like most people find myself nodding and humming to a variety of tunes depending on my mood. But there is always a particular kind of music that will speak directly to one’s soul. And in my case, it is rock music. The wail of the electric guitar resonates very much to my liking.

So when the opportunity to attend a concert by one of my favorite rock bands – The Red Hot Chili Peppers (RHCP) presented itself, I jumped at the chance to enjoy their performance as well as my very first rock concert. It was held at the Oracle Arena, Oakland, California, in the large structure that sits there enticingly looking like a thick disc cut out of a pineapple. After my husband and I got over the shock at the exorbitant parking rate and parked our car, we joined other people in RHCP t-shirts making a beeline for the entrance.

A band called ‘Little Dragons’ opened for RHCP. I looked around the huge auditorium tightly packed with eager fans and remembered with glee that the show was sold out. People fumbled through the dim lights with glasses upon glasses of beer and I already began to imagine the stickiness on the floor everywhere as the liquor sloshed around and dripped down. The lights dimmed further and there they were – the four band members – on the lit-up stage!

Red Hot Chili Peppers in concert

Red Hot Chili Peppers in concert!

Everyone instinctively stood up, roaring, whistling, screaming and clapping. Like a previously set alarm going off, as soon as the performance started, smoke began to rise up in puffs over people’s heads as they lit up weed joints to the first song ‘Monarchy of Roses’ that the band began to play. This was followed by gems like ‘Around the World’, ‘Snow (Hey Oh)’, ‘Can’t Stop’, ‘The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie’, ‘Under The Bridge’ and so on. The guitarists jammed together so intensely that they easily managed to coax out from their guitars music that seemed to make the world spin round and round. The ending chords from such jam sessions would flow out to join the beginning of a next much-loved song and there would be a sudden rush of excitement at the recognition of that song which they were starting to play. There was a family consisting of mom, dad, teenage son and teenage daughter in the seats in front of us. When they put their arms around each other to sway and sing to a song, it just reinforced the belief that “a family that rocks together, stays together”!

I sang, danced, head-banged vigorously, jumped up and down, screamed myself hoarse and listened in wonder when hundreds of voices from the audience sang along together in one voice. I felt amazed at this incredible shared feeling of pure enjoyment that we all felt towards fantastic music being blasted at us. When ‘Californication’ – the first song that got me hooked onto RHCP’s music – was played, I visited nostalgia-land and saw myself sitting in the front of the TV watching the music video of that song years ago in India.

After a rock solid performance the band left the stage. But did the audience do the same? No! We were not ready to leave, we just didn’t want the magic to end. We stood there screaming, clapping and shouting ‘we want more, we want more’ until the band re-entered and picked up their instruments to respond to the encore. The music pulsed through our veins once more as they played and played to our heart’s content.

Sometimes I feel
Like I don’t have a partner
Sometimes I feel
Like my only friend
Is the city I live in
The city of Angels
Lonely as I am
Together we cry

I drive on her streets
‘Cause she’s my companion
I walk through her hills
‘Cause she knows who I am
She sees my good deeds and
She kisses me windy and
I never worry
Now that is a lie

I don’t ever wanna feel
Like I did that day
Take me to the place I love
Take me all the way
I don’t ever want to feel
Like I did that day
Take me to the place I love
Take me all that way (yeah yeah yeah)

— ‘Under the Bridge‘ by the Red Hot Chilli Peppers

About Dancing Fingers Singing Keypad

This blogger is someone whose fingers itch to dance, coaxing the keypad to sing. For years, I kept saying that writing for me was a mere hobby. And then, just like the lead characters of a typical romantic movie it finally dawned upon me just how much I love this form of art and how I simply cannot live without it. And then we lived happily ever after ... or tried to, for isn't there the following saying? “Writing is torture. Not writing is torture. The only thing that feels good is having written." Originally from India, I reside in California, USA with my husband and little daughter and work as a software engineer. (I’ve got to be practical, the aforementioned love of my life doesn’t pay for food yet and it doesn’t hurt that I enjoy computer programming.) With the title loosely inspired by the Oscar-winning Chinese film “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon“, this blog, “Dancing Fingers, Singing Keypad” welcomes viewers …err… readers to savor the performances of its “characters”.
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rocking Fingers, Singing Peppers! \m/

  1. Parul says:

    I remember you listening to Californication 🙂

  2. Nikhil says:

    Deepti+head-banging?!?! Ok! Now I am smoking weed!

  3. Gayatri Rao says:

    A live show is always so much fun!

Leave a Comment

