Short story ‘A Colorful Evening’ published!

A short story titled ‘A Colorful Evening’ written by me has had the good fortune of getting published online in the bi-monthly literary e-journal Muse India, issue 42 Mar-Apr 2012.

I had been notified by the editor beforehand and was looking forward to the story appearing in the forthcoming issue. As March 01 dawned here in the Unites States, I dreamed of it vividly as I lay asleep. In the dream, I was checking my iPhone eagerly to view my published story. I saw the link to the story on the homepage of the e-journal but my name was spelled in a wrong manner. For no sensible reason – in spite of the story being an online content and being the same on all devices – I pulled out the iPad in my dream and checked that as well but of course, it was the same incorrect name. Finally, I slipped out of the dream, opened my sleepy eyes, navigated through my iPhone and there it was (with the name spelled correctly, of course). Wow! Was that the fastest ever ‘dream-come-true’ or what?!

Anyway, here is an excerpt from the story, a teaser-trailer, if you will. For the full movie, please go to:

http://www.museindia.com/regularcontent.asp?issid=42&id=3262

Excerpt from ‘A Colorful Evening’:

                                                                         ******

The boy has an idea. He jumps from the raised platform below the ledge and runs inside, planning to return with small pieces of bread.

“Why did you leave me so soon?” Father is asking the ceiling softly, as he swallows a mouthful of whiskey in the darkening living room. Languidly, through half-closed eyes, he watches his son scurry into the kitchen and out again with something between his small clenched fists.

“Come here, little birds, have some food.” The boy stretches out a hand and coaxes the pigeons on the ledge.

The birds look at him with tilted necks and beady eyes while pacing up and down. He climbs up over the platform and onto the ledge. The earthen pots are in his way. He leans over a dry twig in the pot in front of him and reaches out to the birds. They fly away in terror just as his foot slips and he begins to wobble forward.

                                                                         ******

Published Story in Muse India

About Dancing Fingers Singing Keypad

This blogger is someone whose fingers itch to dance, coaxing the keypad to sing. For years, I kept saying that writing for me was a mere hobby. And then, just like the lead characters of a typical romantic movie it finally dawned upon me just how much I love this form of art and how I simply cannot live without it. And then we lived happily ever after ... or tried to, for isn't there the following saying? “Writing is torture. Not writing is torture. The only thing that feels good is having written." Originally from India, I reside in California, USA with my husband and little daughter and work as a software engineer. (I’ve got to be practical, the aforementioned love of my life doesn’t pay for food yet and it doesn’t hurt that I enjoy computer programming.) With the title loosely inspired by the Oscar-winning Chinese film “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon“, this blog, “Dancing Fingers, Singing Keypad” welcomes viewers …err… readers to savor the performances of its “characters”.
This entry was posted in Published Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Short story ‘A Colorful Evening’ published!

  1. Pingback: Musings: Lessons Learned From Stories… | Mirth and Motivation

  2. Nikhil says:

    The best part of the story for me were the two paragraphs about ‘time since…’. They anchor the entire story succinctly! Within 1500 words, you have written a short story that has emotion, humour and suspense, and characters that are simple, yet frail, passionate, fickle, and above all human. No more 3 hour movies for me!
    Dil mange more ;p! Congrats Deepti!

    • Thanks a lot for your rocking review! 🙂 But do give me feedback also on how I can improve, what may have gone wrong, what would have felt more right etc. Hope such “min-series” (a.k.a short stories) over time someday also lead to full-blown “movies” (a.k.a whole novels)! But I know that is going to be a loooong way to go.

  3. Sushant says:

    Awesome …. gripping plot , even i was scared for li’l Rohan !!
    And I like “Deepti Mahule (Nalavde)” in the title ! 🙂

  4. Anand Argula says:

    Very thoughtful and wonderfully written ! Keep up the good work !

  5. Raj Chandran says:

    Gripping .. I was viscerally terrified for a moment there .. waiting for the next one!

  6. Pesto Sauce says:

    Congrats, its always a matter of pride to get published

  7. ANooP says:

    Congrats Deepti,

    I have a love for short stories and this is one of the best I have read. Amazingly written. If you really like reading short stories I would recommend Anton Chekov (ignore if you already know).

    Anyways thanks for sharing. It was an amazing read. Will go through all your published stories 🙂

    Cheers

    • Thank you so much for reading and liking my short story! 🙂 Please feel free to give honest feedback about my writing when you read other stories and posts in case you find that something did not work or could have been done better. I would greatly appreciate it.

      Yes, I have read some short stories by Chekhov a long time ago and enjoyed them. Other favorites of mine include (but are not restricted to) works by O.Henry, Ernest Hemingway, Margaret Atwood, Alice Munro, Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie and almost every fiction piece that is published in the New Yorker magazine. It is incredible how really good writers can convey so much, so aptly, in limited words. And many times, short stories provide a nice break from reading long works like novels.

      • ANooP says:

        Sure thing. Whenever I go through your post I will make it a point to let you know my feedback.

        To be honest I rarely read novels or short stories, but somehow I happen to love it here. Don’t know when this craze is going to fade. Chekov’s works happened to be recommended by a dear friend. That’s how I got to read his short stories.

        Keep blogging.

        Cheers

Leave a Comment

