My Valentine

Statutory warning: Insulin shots recommended, sugar content in the following blog post may exceed normal levels. Cholesterol check also recommended since the post carries a possibility of being cheesy as well.

But hey, it’s the occasion of Valentine’s day and a little binging on the sweet and heavy stuff for the heart is not only allowed but also encouraged!

Valentine’s day started to be of significance on a personal level a few years ago when, out of the blue, a great phenomenon rushed at me and hit me hard. The last thing on earth that I expected, it smacked me in the chest with such force that I fell in that exact way that it wants everyone to fall in – ‘head over heels’! To this day, I can recollect that magical time: the incredible feeling of falling in love.

My ‘dark’ knight came galloping on a white horse (alright, it was actually a black and yellow motorcycle, incidentally called Hero Honda Passion!) and stopped in front of me. He held out his hand and hoisted me up onto it. The motorbike no longer needed fuel but began to glide in the air on wings of friendship…

Statue of couple dancing in front of a heart-shaped light.

A creative photographic experiment by my husband, Valentine’s day 2011

From the start, we decided to base our relationship on making each other a better person. There are countless details of the relationship that are worth praising and celebrating but on this occasion, this blog post would like to restrict bits and pieces that are related to the written word. During the early days of courtship he did one of the most romantic things imaginable. He wrote a poem about me and read it out. It was so wonderful that I floated upwards until I could touch the moon. Each birthday was marked by the gift of a good book from him. One included a subscription to the fantastic New Yorker magazine. An avid reader himself, he borrows books from the local library and keeps feeding me a wide selection. He encourages me to write and had egged me on to start this blog. Just like my parents had done since long before him, he continues to fan the flames and stoke the fire of reading and writing burning within me. Here’s wishing my special blog reader – the very first one reading every post in its draft form before the “Publish” button is hit – a very happy Valentine’s day!

Our love has stood the test of time and long distance with both of us being physically far away from each other, as international students, one on the east coast and the other on the west coast of the United States for around two painfully long years. However, a few months later we were joined in holy matrimony, the experience being documented in a previous post: My Best Friend’s Wedding and have now been married for almost a year.

Marriage/Monogamy quoteLove, marriage, monogamy definitely do mean all those sugary sweet sayings that are out there but there is a nice, practical one which which goes something like this: “marriage or monogamy really means that you are willing to live with the imperfections in your loved one”. For a third person, the shortcomings in you or your life-partner will be absolute deal-breakers but for both of you who are made for each other, they will just enhance the charm of being an imperfect human.

About Dancing Fingers Singing Keypad

This blogger is someone whose fingers itch to dance, coaxing the keypad to sing. For years, I kept saying that writing for me was a mere hobby. And then, just like the lead characters of a typical romantic movie it finally dawned upon me just how much I love this form of art and how I simply cannot live without it. And then we lived happily ever after ... or tried to, for isn't there the following saying? “Writing is torture. Not writing is torture. The only thing that feels good is having written." Originally from India, I reside in California, USA with my husband and little daughter and work as a software engineer. (I’ve got to be practical, the aforementioned love of my life doesn’t pay for food yet and it doesn’t hurt that I enjoy computer programming.) With the title loosely inspired by the Oscar-winning Chinese film “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon“, this blog, “Dancing Fingers, Singing Keypad” welcomes viewers …err… readers to savor the performances of its “characters”.
This entry was posted in Seriousness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Valentine

  1. monalispeaks says:

    Wow! Loved it absolutely! I also love the base of your relationship 🙂

  2. anjum says:

    so nice!!

  3. asha says:

    very nice,i can imagine your feelings.everyone must expirience it. pratekacha nashib itake chhan
    asayala hawe. you,both are made for each other, we are proud of having such son and daughter in law(daughter)

  4. pappa says:

    two brains, one is sparkling and another is spark creator, this is going to happen. very nice.
    keep it up.

Leave a Comment

